Wright County Record logo and header

Low voter turnout for June 2 election


Voter turnout was extremely low during a rare June election last Tuesday throughout the Wright County area. In Wright County, only 865 voters out of 6,835 registered voters or 12.66 percent showed up to the polls to cast their votes for candidates in a few competitive races. Douglas County reported 17.74 percent voter turnout with just 1,321 out of 7,446 registered voters casting their votes.

Texas County blacked out their percentages on the unofficial results sheet provided to the media and requests for a number of voters who actually voted were not reported as of press time. Texas County shows 14,898 registered voters.

Starting in Mountain Grove, Mark Boyd defeated Dan Bartlett, 32-26 to win Ward 2. Brenda Clark knocked off Wayne Jones, 51-37, to win Ward 3.

Meanwhile, Jeff Holman held off Jim DeWitt in Ward 4, 35-21.

As for the highly competitive Mountain Grove R-III School Board race, Mark Hyde (387), Jeff Holman (358) and Shannon Shaner (298) won seats on the school board after votes from three counties were tallied. Coming in fourth place was Shawna Plummer (278). Texas County results for the race were Hyde (80), Holman (74), Plummer (50) and Shaner (46). In Douglas County, Hyde had 21, Holman 18, Shaner 15 and Plummer had 12 votes.

In Mansfield, the question on the ballot asking voters to forgo annual elections if the number of candidates equal the number of positions available passed by a 63-37 margin in favor of yes votes. In Ward 2, Derrick Neal defeated Luke Lawson, 34-20. As for the Mansfield R-IV School Board race, those earning spots were Colton Jones (190), Vicki Box (172) and Hayden Dennis (122). Laynie Noble was fourth (107) and Don Jones was fifth (88).

As for the Norwood R-I School District, those winning positions included Shawn Chadwell (99), De De Richardson (81) and John Kelly (77). Randy Cottengim finished fourth with 69 votes.

The nearby Texas County Board of Trustees race had write-in candidate Steve Pierce win with 1,194 votes. George Sholts was second (630) and Gina Umfleet was third (499).

In Douglas County, the Skyline R-II School District Prop 2 passed with a 78-55 margin of yes votes to no votes.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here