Wright County Record logo and header

Filing begins for April election races

Several candidates have already declared intent to run


There will be several seats up for election throughout Wright County on April 6, 2021. The filing period to declare candidacy began on Tuesday, Dec. 15 and ends on Tuesday, Jan. 19.

The seats up for election and the list of candidates who have already filed as of press time includes:

Mountain Grove

In the City of Mountain Grove, there are six positions up for election.

Current Mayor Fred VanBibber has filed for the mayoral race featuring a four year term. Incumbent Danny Bledsoe has also filed for his position up for election, which is Marshall/Ex Officio City Collector.

Wards I, II, III and IV all have two year seats up for election. Incumbents currently include Webb Friend (Ward I), Tom Ratteree (Ward II), Sandra Mahoney (Ward III) and Sherri Unger (Ward IV). Both Mahoney and Unger have officially filed as of press time.

As for the Mountain Grove R-III School Board, there are two, three year seats up for election. Both incumbents Danny Lahtrom and Shawna Plummer have already filed.


In the City of Norwood, the mayoral position and two aldermen seats with two year terms are up for election.

Incumbent Mayor Steven Jarrett has filed for the mayoral race. No one has filed for the aldermen races. Seats up for election are currently held by Donn Sawyer and Myrtle Day.

As for the Norwood R-I School Board race, there are three positions up for election.

With the resignation of Rick Calhoun effective April 5, 2021, there is a one year term position. Currently, Nancy Smith, R.A. Bradshaw and Randy Cottengim have all filed in the one year race.

There are two, three year positions also up for election. Incumbents Chad Sullivan and Rhonda Coatney have already filed. Curtis Smith has also declared his candidacy by filing.


As for the City of Mansfield, no candidates have filed for the two positions up for election. Ward I’s incumbent is Calleen Jones and Ward II’s incumbent is Dwayne Delcour.

As for the Mansfield R-IV School District, there are two, three year terms. No one has filed as of press time.

Incumbents are Randall Roy and John Roberts.

Incumbents are Jeff Bettendorf, Nathan Helsley and Brett Long. No candidates have filed as of press time. The Hartville R-II School District has two positions featuring three year terms up for election. Incumbents are Jason Cryer and Jeff Ward. Only Cryer has filed as of press time.

There is one, three-year term position up for election in the Mountain Grove Special Road District. As of press time, incumbent Steve Sloan is the only person to declare their candidacy.

The Manes R-V School District has two positions of three year terms. No filings yet reported.


In the City of Hartville, there will be an election for mayor and three At-Large Aldermen positions. The incumbent mayor is Mayor Rob Tucker.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here