Wright County Record logo and header

Election Results for Tuesday, April 5

(Updated at 9:58 p.m. with final Texas County figures from one precinct that was the last to report.)
Wright County results are in for Election Night on Tuesday, April 5.
In the City of Mountain Grove, Mark Boyd defeated Nicholas Holloway, 44-25, in Ward 2.
Brenda Clark held off Teresa Lindsey, 43-31, to win Ward 3.
In Ward 4, Sarah Forrest won with 30 votes. Connie Mitchell had 29 votes and Jim DeWitt had 21. Carolyn Mitchell won her unopposed Ward 1 race with 109 votes.
As for the Mountain Grove Question 1 regarding farm animals on five or more acres, the "Yes" votes won, 265-119. This includes the Texas County votes.
As for Mountain Grove's Question 2 on a sales use tax, it was voted down for a third time. The "No" votes won, 262-111.
In the competitive race for the one year term on the Mountain Grove School Board, Ryan Morris won, 310-226, over Cheyanne Smith. These totals include Wright, Texas and Douglas counties.
Both Howard Hawkins and Jay Loveland won their uncontested races for the three-year term seats.
In the Mansfield School Board race, Zach Miller (187) and Doug Tripp (114) won the two seats with three year terms. Jason Eagleston was third with 59 votes and Robert Lozano fourth (50).
Derrick Neal won the unopposed Ward 2 race for the City of Mansfield.
As for Norwood, R.A. Bradshaw (101) and Debbie Shelton (91) won the two seats set with three year terms. Steven Jarrett was third with 81 votes. Curtis Smith was fourth (64).
As for the City of Norwood's question to allow the City to forgo an annual election if there is an equal number of candidates for seats up for election, the "Yes" votes won, 37-17.
In the Manes R-VI School District, Larry Perkins and Rachel Emery won unopposed races for three year terms. Ruth Ann Dobbs won the two year term race and Jaime Lowman won the one year term race. Both of those races were also unopposed.
In Cabool, Danny Cannon won the mayor race with 143 votes. Brenda Jarrett was second with 88, followed by Lane Daniel (5) and Shyanne Daniel (3).
As for the Texas County sales tax item for law enforcement, the "Yes" votes won 1,608 -1,165.
In the Texas County Hospital Trustee race, Jim Perry won with 1,258 votes. Beverly S. Clark was second (661) and George Sholtz took third (570).