Wright County Record logo and header

Candidate deadline nears for election


The deadline to declare candidacy for City and School Board election races and other races is coming soon for the April 5, 2022 election.

Those wishing to get their name on an election ballot, were able to do so as early as Dec. 7.

The deadline to file is Tuesday, Dec. 28.

The long list of offices up for election includes, by town:

Mountain Grove

The City of Mountain Grove has two year terms for Ward I, Ward II, Ward III and Ward IV.

Those with terms expiring include Carolyn Mitchell (Ward I), Mark Boyd (Ward II), Brenda Clark (Ward III) and Jeff Holman (Ward IV).

Those who have filed as of Dec. 9 include Carolyn Mitchell in Ward I; both Mark Boyd and Eugene Sines in Ward II; and Brenda Clark in Ward III. Ward IV has no filings as of Dec. 9.

As for the Mountain Grove R-III School Board, positions up for reelection are the three-year term seats are currently filled by Howard Hawkins and Jay Loveland. Ryan Morris’ one-year seat is also up for election. As of press time, both Hawkins and Loveland have filed. Both Morris and Cheyanne Smith have filed for the one year seat.


The Norwood R-I School District has two, three-year term seats up for election currently held by Debbie Shelton and R.A. Bradshaw. As of press time, Curtis Smith is the lone candidate to file.

As for the City of Norwood race, it has two alderman positions with two-year terms.

Those seats are currently filled by Travis Coatney and Mike Fitzpatrick and they are the lone candidates to file thus far.


In the Mansfield R-IV School Baord race, there are two Board members with three-year terms expiring. Those seats are currently held by Kris Gray and Zach Miller. Just Miller has filed as of press time.

In the City of Mansfield, there are two, two-year terms as Ward I and Ward II seats are up for election. Both Mike Roberts (Ward I) and Derrick Neal (Ward II) currently serve in those positions. No one has filed as of press time.


The Hartville R-III School Board has two, three-year term positions up for election. Those are currently held by Allen Dickinson and Dustin Arnall. As of press time, Dustin Arnall has filed.

In the one-year term position race for the seat held by Jeffrey Palmer, just Palmer has filed for that election as of press time.

As for the City of Hartville, alderman positions up for election are seats with two-year terms currently held by Jessica Vandergrift, Karen Brown and Loni Pedersen. No filings were reported as of press time.


No filings were reported for two other races.

The Mountain Grove Special Road District has a Board member position election that features a three-year term.

The Wright County Health Department has three Baord positions with three-year terms also up for election.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here